Food Feature Friday: Avocado

So I did this once a long time ago but now I’m bringing it back and switching the name around. Why? ‘Cause it’s my blog and I do what I want, that’s why! Feature Five Friday is just my way to recognize all the great food blogs and gluten-free, dairy-free, whole food recipes that I come across throughout the week. It also gives me a chance to share them with you! This week, the featured ingredient is avocados. And boy do I love avocados. So creamy, so delicious. Full of good fats that keep you full and do wonders for your skin, brain, and body. Sometimes I even eat them straight out of the shell topped with sea salt or hot sauce!

Avocado

According to World’s Healthiest Foods, avocado is a wonderful source of fiber, vitamin K, copper, and folate, and can help fight inflammation, promote blood sugar regulation, and support cardiovascular health (thanks to its high Omega-3 content, which is beneficial on its own). Avocados contain high levels of carotenoids, including beta-carotene, alpha-carotene and lutein. Better yet, adding avocado to salad increases your absorption of two key carotenoid antioxidants, lycopene and beta-carotene by 200-400%, so you’re really getting the most out of those vegetables! It’s also though to have anti-cancer benefits as well! Not bad for such an unsuspecting fruit. Now on to the recipes!

Dairy-Free Creamy Chilled Avocado Soup

Dairy-Free Creamy Avocado Soup – The Healthy Apple

This sounds savory with a hint of sweet and totally amazing. I’ll definitely be making this soon.

Quinoa Sushi

Quinoa Avocado, Cucumer, and Spinach Sushi – Mix It Up

This is such a fun take on sushi (which I love) and it sounds so fresh and tasty.

Basil-Blackberry-Avocado Smoothie

Basil-Blackberry-Avocado Smoothie – ActivEats 

I love the idea of this flavor pairing. Basil complements sweet so well and avocado would really bring the whole thing together.

Avocado Chocolate Mousse Cake

Avocado Chocolate Mousse Cake with Goji Berries – This Rawsome Vegan Life

I’m a huge fan of Emily’s blog. This cake is raw and vegan, like all of her recipes, and looks unbelievably decadent and incredible.

What’s your favorite avocado recipe? Post your link in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

