Food Feature Friday: Cauliflower

If you can’t tell by now, I’m totally obsessed with cauliflower. It’s highly nutritious and incredibly versatile, and as a longtime fan of this cruciferous vegetable I’m so excited that it’s finally getting the attention it deserves! It can be used for savory recipes, sweet recipes, and can be made into healthy substitutes for everything from potatoes to pudding. I’ve used it in a number of ways, and recipes like this and this just prove how versatile cauliflower really is.

Food Feature Friday: Cauliflower // Naturally Lindsey

So here’s the deets: 1 cup of cauliflower contains 73% of the RDA for vitamin C. That’s seriously impressive. It’s also a very good source of manganese and contains high levels of antioxidants. Cauliflower helps your body fight inflammation in other ways, too, with vitamin K and omega-3 fatty acids, two important nutrients. Plus, it’s good for your digestive support system! Not only does cauliflower have 3 grams of fiber per cup, it contains a sulforaphane made from glucosinolate called glucoraphanin (say that 3 times fast) that’s thought to protect the lining of your stomach by preventing bacterial overgrowth. And while I tend to focus on a food’s nutritional content as opposed to its calorie content, it’s good to note that a cup of cauliflower contains only 23 calories! It’s also very low GI, so go ahead and gorge on this gorgeous veggie all you want.

Now on to the recipes!

Cauliflower

Spicy Whole Roasted Cauliflower – PureWow
The idea of roasting an entire cauliflower is completely new to me. Normally I wouldn’t include recipes with regular dairy in them, but this sounds incredible. I’d recommend substituting coconut yogurt or coconut cream for the greek yogurt. Goat yogurt would work here as well if you can tolerate it.

cauliflower-steaks-1

Roasted Cauliflower Steaks with Meyer Lemon Relish – Brooklyn Supper
Cauliflower and lemon sounds like a match made in heaven, and just look at the picture! It’s like a party over there. A party that I really, really want in my belly.

Coconut-Curry-Cauliflower-

Coconut Curry Cauliflower – Skinny Ms.
I’ve made cauliflower mash before using a similar recipe, but in this recipe you bake the florets instead of mashing them. And with coconut and curry? Ugh, please — too good. Count me in.

Screen Shot 2014-02-06 at 11.37.41 PM

Chocolate Cauliflower Shake – The Green Forks
This one was really interesting to me as well. A milkshake? Made of cauliflower? The picture looks delectable and knowing how well cauliflower takes on new flavors, I can’t wait to try this out for myself.

IMG_1438

“Rice” Pudding – Maria Mind Body Health
A similar concept to my Paleoats, I was so excited to see a decadent dessert that features cauliflower as the main ingredient — plus I LOVE rice pudding. While I can’t have brown sugar during my current candida treatment, I’m going to have to attempt this with stevia very very soon.

Have you gotten experimental with cauliflower yet? What’s your favorite way to eat it? I’d love to find out. Leave me a comment and let me know!

Reference: World’s Healthiest Foods – Cauliflower

One thought on “Food Feature Friday: Cauliflower

  1. Pingback: Food Feature Friday: Broccoli | Naturally Lindsey

Leave a Reply

