Food Feature Friday: Lettuce

This week’s Food Feature Friday was inspired by something I’ve been getting a lot of in my CSA lately: lettuce! I’m not the biggest salad person, but there’s something to be said for perfectly fresh in-season lettuce. It’s crispy, crunchy, has a ton of flavor and is super hydrating!

Food Feature Friday: Lettuce // Naturally Lindsey

But did you know that lettuce is also really healthy? Now yes, I know, it’s not like you’d really ever think of lettuce as unhealthy but it’s actually quite the powerhouse, packed with beneficial vitamins and nutrients like vitamin K, vitamin A, and folate. In addition, it’s a good source of fiber, potassium, and manganese. Who knew, right?

Needless to say, with all this lettuce coming around I’ve needed to find something to do with it. A girl can only eat so many salads (and lettuce wraps…) Though they were a bit tough to find, below are a few recipes I’ll be trying soon:

lettuce-soup31

Lettuce Soup – Local Kitchen Blog
I’ve never had lettuce soup before, but with all the herbs in this recipe I imagine it’s quite tasty. Plus, puréeing heads of lettuce makes good use of large quantities, fast. I’d replace the heavy cream with coconut milk here – it’s only 1/4 cup, so I think the herbs would disguise any coconutty taste pretty well.

grilled-romaine-a

Grilled Romaine Lettuce – Simply Recipes
A simple vinaigrette makes lettuce come to life, so I can only imagine what happens when you grill the lettuce as well. I’m imagining caramelized flavors here. Fresh, but in a richer way. Mmm…

IMG_8444

Baked Falafel Lettuce Wraps with Tahini Sauce – Back to Her Roots
Yes these are lettuce wraps. But they’re FALAFEL lettuce wraps. These look so good! Just be sure to sub gluten-free bread crumbs and you’ll be golden.

Bibb Lettuce Sauce – Emeril Lagasse
This one unfortunately has no picture, but I’m really interested to try it out. The recipe recommends serving it over salmon, tomato, and hard boiled egg slices, but I think I’d like to try it over some zucchini noodles for an extra green meal.

 

What’s your favorite non-salad way to enjoy lettuce? Let me know below. Happy Friday!

One thought on “Food Feature Friday: Lettuce

Leave a Reply

