My Daily Ritual: Warm Lemon Water “Super Tea”

Hello everyone! It’s been a little while — I’m busy with some exciting things for this blog (coming soon!) but today I wanted to share a personal recipe of mine that I enjoy daily. It’s soothing, comforting, and really healthy, plus it’s great for you digestion! Perhaps by now you’ve heard that you should start your day with a glass of warm lemon water. Not only does drinking warm water help to rehydrate your system (our bodies are most dehydrated after we wake), it also aids in digestion, boosts the immune system, balances pH levels, and helps detox your body. But why stop at just the lemon?

IMG_5477IMG_5464

My recipe kicks things up a notch with grass-fed gelatin that provides protein and helps soothe and repair your digestive tract, along with coconut oil which is an incredible source of MCTs (medium chain triglycerides), a kind of fatty acid that helps you burn more fat while lessening hunger, amongst a whole host of other health benefits. I find that oftentimes when I don’t have time for breakfast (I’m a big fan of the snooze button) I can just put this “tea” in my Contigo tumbler and I’m perfectly satisfied until lunchtime! During the colder months, I also make this when I get home. It’s my little moment of relaxation after a day of work and a hectic 20-mile Los Angeles commute.

My Daily Ritual: Warm Lemon Water "Super Tea" // Naturally Lindsey

Warm Lemon Water “Super Tea”
grain-free, gluten-free, dairy-free, casein-free, soy-free, sugar-free, Paleo

  • 1 cup filtered water plus 1/4 cup at room temperature
  • 1/2- 1 tablespoon unflavored grass-fed gelatin (I use Great Lakes brand)
  • 1/2 tablespoon cold pressed virgin coconut oil
  • juice of 1/2 organic lemon (fresh is best!)

1. In a tea kettle or pot, heat 1 cup water — you want it to be warm, not boiling!
2. While the water is heating, place gelatin in a mug and pour in 1/4 cup room temperature water (cold will make the gelatin clumpy).
3. Carefully pour simmering water gradually into mug with the gelatin mixture, stirring with a spoon to combine. The water should be hot but drinkable. Add more cold water if needed to reach desired temperature. I normally add another 1/4 cup to fill my mug to the top.
4. Scoop coconut oil into the mug and squeeze in the lemon juice. Stir once more and enjoy!

What’s your daily ritual? Have you tried drinking hot water and lemon in the morning?

One thought on “My Daily Ritual: Warm Lemon Water “Super Tea”

Leave a Reply

